Authoring - Disconnected user accounts

New user accounts are immediately active or ‘connected’. However, the password control options in the company settings or the password control options in the user group can temporally disconnect people from the system. For example when someone has tried multiple times to logon with an invalid password or when people have not renewed their password on time then they are automatically disconnected.

In the example below the user ‘MICK’ tried to logon three times with an invalid password. By default, the password control procedure has disconnected his user account for 10 minutes.

Trying to logon repeatedly

Passed the number of tries to enter a password

The user account is disconnected

This user can try to logon in 10 minutes.

This logon behavior and password control is also applicable when users logon on in the web browser.However, the administrator can also manually reconnect  or disconnect a user account.

Reconnecting a disconnected user account

Select the user account in the tree and click on the ‘Properties’ tab on the right pane.

Expand the ‘Connectivity’ section and select on the ‘Connect’ option. Save the user account. Now the user account is reconnected.

Authoring

 About HelpServer
 Starting up and logging on
 The basic working principles
 Using the content in help and documentation systems
 Formatting the content
 Searching and replacing text
 Reusing content with shares
 Navigating with hyperlinks
 Navigating with pointerpaths
 Using bookmarks and jumps
 Duplicating content with clones
 Using tables
 Including media files
 Navigating to web pages
 Using embedded chunks
 Including html code
 Navigating with menus
 Using snippets
 Spelling checking
 Using the view mode
 Creating an index
 Creating a FAQ
 Creating a glossary
 Team authoring
 Working with projects
 Setting up structured authoring
 Generating file based output
 Creating printed output
 Importing files and folders
 Loading files in the project gallery
 Converting legacy content
 Including legacy content in real time
 Transferring objects between installations
 Smartcontent
 Notification
 Feedback
 Translating
 Customizing the look and feel
 User accounts
 About user accounts
 Defining user groups
 Defining user accounts
 The password
 The favorites
 The languages
 The connectivity of the user account
 Disconnected user accounts
 Controlling the active Workbench sessions
 Security
 Working with templates
 Working with metadata
 Versioning
 Auditing
 Workflow management
 Annotations
 Using event exits
 Appendix A: The URL parameters
 Appendix B: The object indicators
 Appendix C: Play Javascript