Authoring - Defining user groups

To create a new user group, first decide which type of user group you want to create.

The HelpServer model distinguishes three kinds of people.

Administrators.

 

The administrators have the highest access permissions. Their responsibility is to tune the system and to set up user profiles and security mechanisms. They are usually not bothered by the content and the structure of the information itself.

Authors.

 

These people are the creators of the content. Their job is to provide state-of-the-art help and documentation that is up to date at all times and can be used by all kinds of users in the organization.

Users.

 

The users are the people who consult the content.  Usually they are interested in specific types of information, they prefer to see it in their own language and perhaps adapted to their profile (e.g. their role in the company and/or their skill).

HelpServer foresees three types (categories) of user groups to distinguish these people. Each user group type holds multiple user groups and each user group holds multiple user accounts.

As an example we add two new user groups 'Ornithologists' and 'Environmentalists' of the type 'Authors'.

Adding a new user group

Popup the menu of the 'Authors' subfolder under ‘User accounts’ and select ‘Add > New User group’.

Specifying the user group name

Enter the user group name and click ‘OK’. The new user group object is added under the 'Authors' type.

New user group added

Repeat these steps and add the 'Environmentalists' user group to finish this example.

If you select a user group in the tree you can change its properties on the right pane. Just make sure you select the properties tab on the top.

The user group properties

The properties are contained in different sections that you can expand and collapse. The details are explained in

Status

 

Connectivity

 

Security

 

Notification

 

Auditing

 

Allowed functions

 

Smartcontent

 

Password control options

 

Notification subscriptions

 

Favorites

 

If you change a user group properties you do not need to publish the user group object. It is activated the moment you save.

Authoring

 About HelpServer
 Starting up and logging on
 The basic working principles
 Using the content in help and documentation systems
 Formatting the content
 Searching and replacing text
 Reusing content with shares
 Navigating with hyperlinks
 Navigating with pointerpaths
 Using bookmarks and jumps
 Duplicating content with clones
 Using tables
 Including media files
 Navigating to web pages
 Using embedded chunks
 Including html code
 Navigating with menus
 Using snippets
 Spelling checking
 Using the view mode
 Creating an index
 Creating a FAQ
 Creating a glossary
 Team authoring
 Working with projects
 Setting up structured authoring
 Generating file based output
 Creating printed output
 Importing files and folders
 Loading files in the project gallery
 Converting legacy content
 Including legacy content in real time
 Transferring objects between installations
 Smartcontent
 Notification
 Feedback
 Translating
 Customizing the look and feel
 User accounts
 About user accounts
 Defining user groups
 Defining user accounts
 The password
 The favorites
 The languages
 The connectivity of the user account
 Disconnected user accounts
 Controlling the active Workbench sessions
 Security
 Working with templates
 Working with metadata
 Versioning
 Auditing
 Workflow management
 Annotations
 Using event exits
 Appendix A: The URL parameters
 Appendix B: The object indicators
 Appendix C: Play Javascript