Authoring - The connectivity of the user account

You can assign a limited life time to user accounts by setting a date at which a user account should be ‘connected’ and/or an expiry date at which the user account should be ‘disconnected’. This behavior is set in the 'Connectivity' section of the user account’s properties.

The connectivity options in the user account

The ‘Connectivity’ section shows

A ‘Connect’ and a ‘Disconnect’ option. These can be used to manually reconnect or disconnect a user account.

 

A ‘From’ date and a ‘Till’ date. If specified the ‘From’ date indicates the date at which the (re)connection or disconnection should be applied. The ‘Till’ date indicates the date at which the connection or disconnection should end. You can click on the ‘Set’ button to select a date and on the ‘Clear’ button to remove a date.

 
You can assign the same options to the user group.

The connectivity options in the user group

If users logon on then first the user group’s connectivity options are checked. If the user group turns out to be ‘disconnected’ then the logon will fail. If it is valid, then the user account’s connectivity options are checked.

Authoring

 About HelpServer
 Starting up and logging on
 The basic working principles
 Using the content in help and documentation systems
 Formatting the content
 Searching and replacing text
 Reusing content with shares
 Navigating with hyperlinks
 Navigating with pointerpaths
 Using bookmarks and jumps
 Duplicating content with clones
 Using tables
 Including media files
 Navigating to web pages
 Using embedded chunks
 Including html code
 Navigating with menus
 Using snippets
 Spelling checking
 Using the view mode
 Creating an index
 Creating a FAQ
 Creating a glossary
 Team authoring
 Working with projects
 Setting up structured authoring
 Generating file based output
 Creating printed output
 Importing files and folders
 Loading files in the project gallery
 Converting legacy content
 Including legacy content in real time
 Transferring objects between installations
 Smartcontent
 Notification
 Feedback
 Translating
 Customizing the look and feel
 User accounts
 About user accounts
 Defining user groups
 Defining user accounts
 The password
 The favorites
 The languages
 The connectivity of the user account
 Disconnected user accounts
 Controlling the active Workbench sessions
 Security
 Working with templates
 Working with metadata
 Versioning
 Auditing
 Workflow management
 Annotations
 Using event exits
 Appendix A: The URL parameters
 Appendix B: The object indicators
 Appendix C: Play Javascript