Authoring - The Workbench log on

The access to the HelpServer content in the Workbench is always controlled by a logon procedure that prompts you to enter a user ID and a password. The user ID and password to be entered here depends on the following cases.

 

For the logon to access your own installed trial version or to access your 4.ST SaaS trial environment you can use the predefined user ID 'Administrator', a password is not required.

 
 

For the logon to access your own commercial-quality server installation the user ID and password should be provided by your HelpServer administrator.

 
 

For the logon to access the 4.ST Service & Support system the user ID and password can be found in the email you received from 4.ST or its representative.

 

The 'Logon' window

Each time you start the HelpServer Workbench the 'Logon' window pops up. Enter your user ID and password and click 'OK' to continue. If the user ID and password are valid then the Workbench will open.

Unknown account

If the user ID is invalid, you are prompted to retry.

Invalid password

If your user ID is correct and you mistype your password, you are also prompted to retry. Make sure to use the correct uppercase and lowercase characters. If you have forgotten your password you can click on the 'I have forgotten my password' link.

Retrying the password one more time

If you mistype the password repeatedly, the system can automatically disconnect your account. In that case you are prompted to retry one more time.

Account disconnected temporally

If you still enter an invalid password then your account is disconnected for a period of time.

Retrying after awhile

If you retry to logon and your account is still disconnected a message will indicate how much longer you will have to wait.

The administrator can also manually disconnect your account or he could even shut of the automatic reconnection facility in the logon procedure. In that case you will see the following message on the 'Logon' window.

Account disconnected permanently

Talk to your administrator, only he is allowed to reconnect your account.

You can open multiple Workbench sessions on the same workstation but then you need multiple user accounts. If you try to logon with an account that is already logged on on the same or another workstation you will see the following message on the 'Logon' window.

User account already in use

Authoring

 About HelpServer
 Starting up and logging on
 Starting the Workbench
 The Workbench log on
 Requesting a forgotten password
 Renewing your password
 License expiration
 Incorrect database settings
 The basic working principles
 Using the content in help and documentation systems
 Formatting the content
 Searching and replacing text
 Reusing content with shares
 Navigating with hyperlinks
 Navigating with pointerpaths
 Using bookmarks and jumps
 Duplicating content with clones
 Using tables
 Including media files
 Navigating to web pages
 Using embedded chunks
 Including html code
 Navigating with menus
 Using snippets
 Spelling checking
 Using the view mode
 Creating an index
 Creating a FAQ
 Creating a glossary
 Team authoring
 Working with projects
 Setting up structured authoring
 Generating file based output
 Creating printed output
 Importing files and folders
 Loading files in the project gallery
 Converting legacy content
 Including legacy content in real time
 Transferring objects between installations
 Smartcontent
 Notification
 Feedback
 Translating
 Customizing the look and feel
 User accounts
 Security
 Working with templates
 Working with metadata
 Versioning
 Auditing
 Workflow management
 Annotations
 Using event exits
 Appendix A: The URL parameters
 Appendix B: The object indicators
 Appendix C: Play Javascript