Authoring - Restoring older versions

The idea behind restoring older copies of content is to revert to content at a point in the past and to reactivate it. To restore older versions you actually follow the same working principles as explained in restoring active object instances. Furthermore, it might be a good idea to first familiarize yourself with the Workbench's view mode function because this is the first you are going to need here.

Before you start, one warning: the restore of older versions of an object always removes the ongoing work on the object.

In the following example two versions 'V1' and 'V2' of the ‘Fishes’ folder in the 'Encyclopedia: Encarta' are already available. 'V2' is the active version while 'V1' is an older and hence an inactive version. Since 'V2' is also the latest object instance it is shown by default in the Workbench nodes.

The Workbench showing the latest version of the content

The latest version of the 'Fishes' folder contains the 'Versioning notes' topic and the 'The tuna' subfolder. These objects are not available in the 'V1' version The next examples demonstrate how to restore the 'V1'  version of the 'Fishes' folder. The first step is to switch to the 'V1' view mode.

Switching a content object to an older version

You do this by popping up the menu of the 'Fishes' folder in the tree node and selecting 'View mode>V1'. The Workbench node will switch the folder to the 'V1' content. In the next image you see that the tree nodes of the 'Fishes' folder reveal the name and the date of the version and visualize the alternate view mode by means of a background color.

Restoring an older version of a folder

In the 'V1' view mode you can popup the 'Fishes' folder's menu and select 'Restore instance'. On the 'Restore instance' window that opens you click 'Start' to initiate the restore process.

Confirming the restore process

After confirmation, the restore process will scan the entire folder to examine and process the underlying objects.

Restore process performed

At the end of this process the folder is automatically switched back to view mode 'Latest'. Close the 'Restore instance' window to take a look at the result.

The older version of a folder completely restored

The versioning notes topic nor 'The tuna' subfolder is available anymore and this is how the folder was in the 'V1' version. Also the images and files contained in the topics are automatically included in the restore process.

If you restore an older version then the objects are always restored in their ‘Work’ state (you see red rectangles all over the 'Fishes' content). This allows you to check or to work on the restored data. If everything is all right you need to publish the restored objects to reactivate them.

Here in this example we have restored the entire 'Fishes' folder. As mentioned in the beginning of this topic, the restore removes all ongoing work in the 'Fishes' folder. You can also restore older versions of individual chapters and topics without destroying work in progress on other objects in the folder. This working principle is explained in restoring individual objects and considering work in progress.

You can also recover older versions of objects you have removed. This approach is explained in recovering removed objects to their original location and recovering removed objects to a chosen location.

Authoring

 About HelpServer
 Starting up and logging on
 The basic working principles
 Using the content in help and documentation systems
 Formatting the content
 Searching and replacing text
 Reusing content with shares
 Navigating with hyperlinks
 Navigating with pointerpaths
 Using bookmarks and jumps
 Duplicating content with clones
 Using tables
 Including media files
 Navigating to web pages
 Using embedded chunks
 Including html code
 Navigating with menus
 Using snippets
 Spelling checking
 Using the view mode
 Creating an index
 Creating a FAQ
 Creating a glossary
 Team authoring
 Working with projects
 Setting up structured authoring
 Generating file based output
 Creating printed output
 Importing files and folders
 Loading files in the project gallery
 Converting legacy content
 Including legacy content in real time
 Transferring objects between installations
 Smartcontent
 Notification
 Feedback
 Translating
 Customizing the look and feel
 User accounts
 Security
 Working with templates
 Working with metadata
 Versioning
 Overview
 Creating versions
 Browsing older versions
 Restoring older versions
 Removing older versions
 Cleanup versions in the mass
 Hints and tips
 Auditing
 Workflow management
 Annotations
 Using event exits
 Appendix A: The URL parameters
 Appendix B: The object indicators
 Appendix C: Play Javascript